February Books

img_2542

I did not get as much reading done this month as I did with the previous month, which I am disappointed in, but here is what I did manage to read.

Twilight Re-imagined by Stephanie Meyer

I absolutely loved the original Twilight, so when I came across this book in a local shop, I admit I was a little curious as to what angle Meyer had taken in re writing it and it has been a good few years since I read the original, which did make me go into the unknown, I did have a vague memory of the plot but it still felt new, (although I could have re read the original seeing as it is a double book).

This version is told from the perspective of a boy, Beau Swan who fall for Edythe Cullen. The book does mainly follow the same line as the original but there a few twists and turns in there.I fell in love with Twilight all over again. It was nice to read it from a different perspective, but also nice to have a boy as the damsel in distress instead of the girl (in this case the girl is the strong, powerful one).

This version is slightly longer than the original and can get a bit bland towards the middle, but, it is still as intriguing as ever and a must read for all Twilight fans.

3.5/5

The Doll’s House By Tania Carver.

This book is number 5 in the Brennan and Esposito series. I picked this book up in a charity shop a while back, not realising it was part of a series. I was just intrigued with the blurb.

In short, the book follow the cases of DI Phil and his team as they try to solve the case of the murder of a transvestite. As the book progresses it introduces other colourful characters that are all somehow linked to this one case. Those who frequent Birmingham will notice the familiar street names

The chapters are on the short side and are from the viewpoint of each character before bringing it all together. As this was my first taste of Carver’s writing, I was not really sure what to expect. After a few pages I really got stuck in. It was difficult to put down, but, I did get annoyed with the unpleasant ramblings of the character Nadish Kahn. I am not a huge fan of crime but this one was definitely worth the read.

4/5

I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

I honestly do not know where to start with this book. It has been on my “To be read” pile for quite some time. I do wish I had picked it up sooner. I seriously have no words to describe this book other than fantastic.

From start to finish it is a rollercoaster of emotions and is so, so,  gripping, I had it finished within 3 days (which for me is rather quick). I was not expecting the multiple twists that occurred throughout the book. It did however, take me about two chapters into the second part to get into the gist of things. I had so much sympathy and fear for Jenna but also pride because of the courage she showed on multiple occasions. I was really sad when the story ended, I wanted to know what happened next.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a gripping crime story, but also someone who just wants to get hooked on a book with an incredible story line.

5/5

Emma Hearts LA by Keris Stainton

After reading two intense novels, I needed something a bit more laid back. This was my first introduction to the Heart series by Keris Stainton. This book is number 2 in the series.

It tells the story of Emma and her family as they move to LA. Now, the blurb really does not do the book any justice, there is so much more to this book than meets the eye.

It was a nice, easy read, with a decent story line but I was not blown away by it.

3/5

 

 

Leave a Reply

