Demi the Daredevil Interview

Demi the Daredevil are an alternative rock band with a theatrical twist, based in Texas. Formed in 2006 the band have gone from strength to strength, even securing themselves a slot on the Vans Warped Tour. October 2016 saw them release a new EP, ‘Secret Schizoid’. Check out the interview below:

1. How did you guys all meet, and what made you form a band?

I met Marc and Jovan in high school. They had started Demi the daredevil A few months before I started playing drums. It was between that name and the root beer Cozzi’s. I was grateful to have joined in the band because it gave me a sense of belonging when I didn’t feel like I fit in anywhere. 

 2. For those that don’t know your band, how would you describe your band?

Art pop dark theater alt Dance Emo punk! A mix of 21 pilots, my chemical romance, panic at the disco, Green Day…. all with a slightly more relaxed feel.

3. Any band you would like to tour with (that you haven’t already toured with)?

All of the above would be great, if not them then maybe a Selena tribute band

4. Can we expect a headline tour in the near future?

Well I suppose we could do a headline tour in the near future, but one probably shouldn’t say “oh I bet we have heard of the bands you are headlining for” with a patronizing smirk. Yep that is happened several times. 

5. You recently released the video for the single ‘Save the Jovian’, what is the song about?

We recently released the video for “save the Jovian.” that song is an ode to the introvert. It’s about fighting to preserve your alone time and self-reflective time in an increasingly overstimulated world where extroversion is the norm.

 6. What has been the hardest track for you to write, and why?

We are set to release a single called “change me”. That song took way longer to wrestle with and be done with then I would have liked. I suppose it was challenging because I was trying to make one of our simplest songs as interesting as it could be. It is sometimes harder to do that then write something very complicated and excessive. 

 7. What is your favourite track on ‘Secret Schizoid’ and why?

My favorite track on the EP might be the above mentioned “save the Jovian”. If I were to want to escape to one song it would be that one I think because of the chord progressions. 

 8. How do you think your fans will react to the new single?

 I can only hope the fans will love the single “change me “as much as they did the EP. I have a feeling they will. It is not as theatrical sounding, it has a more serious air to it but I think people will appreciate that. 

9. Who are your biggest musical influences?

Biggest influences… I should start by saying what influences me the most are songs with great court progressions, melodies, and grooves. If a song really has that I’m grateful. 

   Phil Collins, Queen, David Bowie, The used, Green Day, My Chemical Romance, The Strokes, The Killers, Blink 182, To name a few. 

 10. have you always wanted to create music?

No, actually I have not always wanted to create music. I knew I liked to entertain the camera when I was young. I liked to create drum parts when I joined the band. It was a slow progress but Eventually I took a leap of faith to start making songs in their entirety. 

11. If you weren’t in a band, what would you be doing?

If I wasn’t in a band… maybe I would be an accountant like my dad. God knows I tried almost every major in college and nothing was right for me. 

12. What are your plans for the rest of the year?

Plans for the rest of the year include play 50 cities with 50 fans in each city. Also, we are working with a composer/publisher Chris Munger in getting some of our songs licensed put. He’s very good at placing songs in TV and film. I hope we land something. 

 Thank you

 Thanks for having me

Follow the guys on Facebook and Twitter. Check out their video for ‘Save the Jovian’ below.

One thought on “Demi the Daredevil Interview

Leave a Reply

