Tarah Who? Interview

Tarah Who? are a Los Angeles based rock band who formed in 2006. The trio is made up of Tarah G. Carpenter (TGC): Vocals, Guitar, Matthew Peltcher (MP): Bass, Backing Vocals and Shaina Mikee Keiths (SMK): Drums. I recently caught up with them for a chat

How did you guys all meet, and what made you form a band?

TGC: I started writing songs at a very young age. I have worked with a lot of people for many different reasons. Mostly because of my travels. Matt joined last July 2016, when I moved back from a trip to Europe and Asia. Shaina came in later in February2017.
MP: Tarah Who? needed a bass player. I was looking for a band that fit me. I loved TW?s sound. It was different and intense.

For those that don’t know your band, how would you describe your band?

MP: We are a grunge power trio. You will hear elements of punk and metal in our music. We play what we love. Our live shows are loud.
TGC: Very energetic, cowpunk, grunge band who misses 90’s music.

Any band you would like to tour with (that you haven’t already toured with)?

MP: I would love to tour with White Lung. They have an intense sound that I dig.
TGC: Brody Dalle.

Can we expect a headline tour in the near future?

MP: Yea, we have a tour in the works. Check tarahwho.com or follow us on social media for more details.
TGC: Yes, indeed:) We are working on it. Follow us, you will know:)

You recently released the video for the single “Bitchcraft”, what is the song about?

TGC:Our latest official music video is “Bitchcraft” from our last EP “Federal Circle of Shame”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tEijrptM2aU

The song is about obsession. The very common situation when you find yourself being obsessed with someone who doesn’t feel the same way!

We just shot a fun new music video for “Little Pieces” from our NEW EP ” Half Middle Child Syndrome”, but I haven’t found the time to edit it yet. It should come out in the next few days though:) STAY TUNED!

Here is the making of of our latest EP: ” Half Middle Child Syndrome”: It will give you an idea of what we are about to release on June 21st!:)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwVlU6oi3AA
You are set to release your new EP, what was the hardest track for you to write, and why?

TGC: Well none of the songs were hard to write. But we re-arranged “Pay to Play” at the studio. Something I had never done before. We all had to write new parts and learn them on the spot. Jason Orme (Alanis Morissette, Sarah McLachlan etc..), who we worked with for this EP had an excellent new idea for the drums that made the song groove more. So we all changed our parts, and it turns out to be a really fun song. 🙂
MP: I have to say “Ache”. Its a pretty intense song but i wanted it to be really tight. Took some creativity but it came out great.

What is your favourite track on the EP and why?

TGC: I don’t have a favorite:) I am really happy with all of them. “Garden of Chloé(s)” came out really good. I knew it would, but i am really happy of what we did at the end with the backing vocals.

Each song has a little something, and some magic happened in the studio. Whether it was us changing some parts or adding percussions or inviting friends to do some backing vocals! We invited our friends from Dry Can: Antoine Abinun and Anne Lupieri to join us to do some backing vocals.They were on tour here in California so I asked them to stop by! I am so happy they got to be aprt of this new ep!:)
MP: Garden of Chloe(s) really impressed me. I think its the best mixed track off the EP.

How do you think your fans will react to the new EP?

TGC: I don’t know… Is it a weird title?:)

I have two brothers. an older brother and a half little brother. I grew up with my older brother but i am still close to my little brother so when people ask me about my siblings, I just say I have a big brother and a little brother. 90% of the time I get a ” AAAAHH you’re the middle child”! as if it explained everything! I just thought it was funny, because I don’t consider myself a middle child since my little brother is a half brother and that we didn’t grow up together.
MP: I think they are really looking forward to hearing it, the EP. I hope they enjoy listening to it as much as we had fun making it.

Who are your biggest musical influences?

MP: The Cure and Joy Division. I’ve loved these bands since I was a kid and they are the reason I play in a band.

TGC: I don’t know if they are my musical influences, (probably unconsciously) but I grew up listening to Alanis Morissette, The Distillers, The foo Fighters, Smashing Pumpkins, Courtney Love, Garbage etc…

Have you always wanted to create music?

MP: Most definitely. Any instrument would do. I dont know if you are wired that way but all I’ve ever wanted to do is create and play music.
TGC: I don’t really think of it like that. I see it as a way to express myself, I like to paint too. It’s a nice different way to release my emotions. I enjoy photography as well.. Music is just part of who I am now. Like I said in the beginning of this interview, I started at a young age. I nver learned I just picked up the drums and the bass, later I got more confident to teach myself the guitar and sing. I never thought of a career in music, I just wanted to write, play, share and repeat.

If you weren’t in a band, what would you be doing?

MP: Accounting or worse. No seriously, why would I not want to be in a band??
TGC: Well for one, I would be miserable! I would probably do something with animals, travels, photography. It’s hard to imagine though, I have always been part of several projects at the same time.

What are your plans for the rest of the year?

MP: We are going to be writing and releasing more music and touring. More shows coming up.

TGC: Edit this new music video, release our ep (June 21st! If you are in LA, come out to the Viper Room!) , Tour , and writing new songs:)

Follow Tarah Who?on Facebook  here

Check out their latest music video below

 

Leave a Reply

