Interview with Brandon Kellum from American Standards

I recently caught up with vocalist, Brandon Kellum.

How did you guys all meet, and what made you form a band?

We were all auditioning for Disney On Ice and built this instant bond after being turned down for the parts. Had no clue ice skating was a hard requirement.

For those that don’t know your band, how would you describe your band?

Like trying to scream over a blender.

Any band you would like to tour with (that you haven’t already toured with)?

Bring Poison The Well back for another tour and we’d gladly accept the offer. Until then we’ll wait patiently by the phone.

Can we expect a headline tour in the near future?

We just got off a Midwest run. Shooting for another west coast by end of year then hopefully an east coast tour shortly after.

You recently released the video for the single “Carpe Diem, Tomorrow“. What is the song about?

Being stuck in a rut, unwilling to change, adapt and take on a new challenge. Doing something the same way and expecting a different result. Complacency.

You just released your new album “Anti-Melody”. What was the hardest track for you to write, and why?

It may have been a toss up between “Cancer Eater” which is about the death of my father to cancer, or “Chicago Overcoat” which is about the death of our founding guitarist to suicide. I’m use to looking outward and writing based on what I observe. For those songs I really had to dig inward and write more personally. It prevented me from hiding the meaning of the lyrics in metaphor.

 What is your favourite track on the album and why?

“Churchburner”. It’s far from the traditional metal, punk or hardcore song. In my opinion, that difference in instrumentation really compliments the song’s meaning.

 How have your fans reacted to your new album?

The fans have reacted a little differently then in the past. Since there are far more personal songs on this album that’s allowed us to connect with people in a new way. Maybe it’s more relatable or the passion is more at the forefront. It was important for us to tell this story though.

Who are your biggest musical influences?

From the beginning, bands like System Of A Down, Refused, Deftones and Rage Against The Machine. Anything aggressive that also had a message.

Have you always wanted to create music?

I knew I always wanted to do something creative but I don’t think that thing was always music. I tried a few things prior that proved to be nothing more than phases. It wasn’t till maybe sophomore year of High School when I really got serious about music and 15 years later I’m still doing in it.

If you weren’t in a band, what would you be doing?

Finding another excuse to travel. The thing that I love most about the band is that I get to travel around the world, meeting new people and trying new things with my best friends. If I wasn’t doing that, I don’t know what I’d do.

What are your plans for the rest of the year? 

Outside of touring to support the album, we’re already talking about working on a new EP. Much of “Anti-Melody” was written and recorded in June of 2015. It was a long road to release and now it already feels old to us. Excited for what’s to come.

Keep up to date with the guys over on Facebook and Twitter.
Leave a Reply

