Book Review: Her Mother’s Lies by Rona Halsall

Thank you to Bookouture and Netgalley for accepting my request to review Her Mother’s Lies by Rona Halsall.

cover173597-medium.pngBlurb

What if the person you trust most in the world, has been lying to you for your whole life? Martha would do anything for her devoted mother, Fran. Now in her mid-twenties,

Martha still lives with her in their remote, pretty cottage in the Cornish countryside. Fran paints illustrations, while Martha trains to be an animal nurse.

But then Martha sees a strange message on her mother’s phone – apparently from her estranged father.

He had been there for her first steps. He’d helped with her homework, and taken her for ice cream at weekends. And then, two days before her ninth birthday, he walked out. She never knew what went wrong, and she and Fran never heard from him again.

Desperate for answers, she tracks him down. But when they come face-to-face, she isn’t ready for the brutal truth.

Closing his eyes he says, ‘She hasn’t told you, has she? I’m not your father.’

Her mother has been telling lies.

And not just about who her real father is…

A page-turning, gripping psychological thriller for fans of Paula Hawkins, Shalini Boland, and C. L. Taylor.

Review

This is the first time reading a book by Halsall and what a fantastic introduction Her Mother’s Lies was. What an absolutely gripping read with plenty of twists and turns. It was well paced and rather dark and intense, perfect for a psychological thriller. I had a hard time putting the book down and when I did, I couldnt wait to go back to it. I highly recommend reading this and I look forward to reading more from Rona Halsall.

5/5

Purchase here

One thought on “Book Review: Her Mother’s Lies by Rona Halsall

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s